George Andros to be awarded with the 2013 MedStar Georgetown Distinguished Achievement Award in Diabetic Limb Salvage

From today’s Vascular News

Congratulations to our very own George Andros.
If there is a better gentleman or better doc, we at SALSA haven’t met him or her.

George Andros to be awarded with the 2013 MedStar Georgetown Distinguished Achievement Award in Diabetic Limb Salvage 

Monday, 03 Dec 2012 15:41

George Andros
George Andros

The MedStar Georgetown University Hospital Diabetic Limb Salvage Conference has announced that it will present the 2013 MedStar Georgetown Distinguished Achievement Award in Diabetic Limb Salvage to George Andros, a world-renowned expert on diabetic limb salvage and lower extremity revascularisation.

The award will be presented at the 7th annual Diabetic Limb Salvage Conference (October 10–12 2013, Washington, USA).

Andros, founding partner of Los Angeles Vascular Specialists, helped establish the state-of-the-art Amputation Prevention Center at Valley Presbyterian Hospital in Van Nuys, California, USA, where he is medical director. For the last 14 years, he has been co-chair of DFCon Global Diabetic Foot Conference, an international, multidisciplinary conference held in Los Angeles, USA.

“George Andros has lived by the maxim ‘it is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit,’ and he has proved that in his life by achieving more in his field than anyone else I know by making many of the most significant contributions in distal bypass techniques that have stood the test of time,” said Christopher E Attinger, co-chair, DLS Conference, and division chief of the Center for Wound Healing and Hyperbaric Medicine and professor at Georgetown University Hospital.

“George is a passionate clinician and educator who has been an outspoken advocate for evidence and common sense in the multidisciplinary practice of limb salvage,” said John S Steinberg, co-chair, DLS Conference, and co-director of the Center for Wound Healing and associate professor at MedStar Georgetown University Hospital.

“Dr Andros has been in the vanguard of techniques for lower extremity revascularisation for four decades. He has been an indefatigable champion for, first, open surgical techniques for tibial revascularisation and then as a pioneer and early-adopter of endovascular techniques years before any of his peers. He has been tireless in representing the interests of patients threatened by amputation as a result of diabetes and progressive atherosclerotic disease and has saved thousands from the disability of amputation,” said David H Deaton, co-chair, DLS Conference.

“At DFCon and elsewhere, George Andros has been a pioneer in bringing vascular surgeons together with podiatrists and other physicians and other medical professionals to work in highly effective team approaches to saving limbs,” said Cameron M Akbari, co-chair of DLS and director of the Vascular Diagnostic Laboratory at MedStar Washington Hospital Center in Washington, DC, USA.

Andros, along with a number of others associated with DFCon, helped to involve the Society for Vascular Surgery and the American Podiatric Medical Association in a collaborative effort to save limbs. In a joint statement at the time of DFCon 2010, SVS and APMA noted that the collaborative clinical efforts of podiatrists and vascular surgeons would profoundly benefit patients with critical limb ischaemia. The growing relationship between the APMA and the SVS has created enormous opportunities for the podiatric and vascular communities to come together in the best interest of patient care.

Currently the editor of 
Vascular Specialist, the newspaper of the Society for Vascular Surgery, and a member of the editorial boards of the Journal of Vascular Surgery, the Journal of Endovascular Therapy and theJournal of Vascular Surgery,Andros has served as president of the Southern California Vascular Surgical Society and the Western Vascular Society. He also is a Distinguished Fellow of the Society for Vascular Surgery. Andros is the author of a book on vascular diagnosis and has written more than 55 peer-reviewed articles in professional journals along with 35 book chapters.

Past DLS Achievement Award recipients have been Andrew J M Boulton in 2012; William J Ennis in 2011; Gary W Gibbons in 2010; Peter Sheehan in 2009; Lawrence B Harkless in 2008; and David G Armstrong in 2007.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.